Latin America


Latin America consists of the entire continent of South America as well as Mexico, Central Ameria, and the Caribbean islands. The Spaniards and Portuguese colonized this area from the late 15th through the 18th century as well as movements of independence from Spain and Portugal in the early 19th century. Even since their independence, many of the various nations have experienced similar trends, and they have some awareness of a common heritage.


Latin America is a region of the Americas. People do not completely agree which countries are in Latin America, but normally, it is the parts where Spanish and Portuguese are spoken (South America, Central America, and Mexico). Sometimes the Caribbean Islands are also included.


There are many languages that are historically and currently spoken in Latin America: Aymara, Creole, Guarani, Tupi, Mapudungun, Mayan, Portuguese, Spanish, and many others.

The primary religion throughout Latin America is Roman Catholicism, but one can also find practitioners belonging to Protestant, Pentecostal, Evangelical, Buddhist, Jewish, indigenous, and various Afro-Latin American traditions, such as Santería, Candomblé, and Macumba.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s